top of page


The mission of the Atlantic Avenue Local Development Corporation (AALDC) is to further economic development, historic preservation, and cultural enrichment on Atlantic Avenue, in Brooklyn, New York, from Fourth Avenue to the Waterfront and the surrounding community.

The AALDC provides information, advocacy, and produces events and projects that promote economic growth and vitality, for the preservation and development of the local community.

Who We Are

The Atlantic Avenue Local Development Corporation (AALDC) is a Section 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization committed to the economic development, cultural enrichment and historic preservation of the Atlantic Avenue area from Fourth Avenue to the waterfront in Brooklyn, New York.

Founded by local merchants and community activists, the AALDC is committed to Atlantic Avenue, one of the great streets of New York. It is home to people of various cultural backgrounds, vibrant and successful businesses, long standing institutions, and rich architectural character. This 1.5 mile stretch knits together the established neighborhoods of Brooklyn Heights, Cobble Hill, Boerum Hill and Downtown Brooklyn.

In the 1970’s the AALDC sought a way to promote Brooklyn and “welcome” visitors to dine, shop, and enjoy the historic Atlantic Avenue areas. The resulting event was the first annual Atlantic Antic in 1974. In 1986, the AALDC was formed as a 501(c)(3) organization to support the Atlantic Antic and its mission formed to grow these principles into other like programs and advocacy.

Today, the AALDC works to improve the quality of life in the neighborhoods surrounding Atlantic Avenue through advocacy, cultural events, outreach/PR and historic preservation. Because business is promoted by preservation of the 19th century buildings on Atlantic Avenue, especially Civil War-era storefronts, the AALDC encourages compliance with the Atlantic Avenue Special Zoning District, which the AALDC helped create.

Our Board of Directors

President – Sharon Taylor
Vice President – Sue Wolfe
Treasurer – Nat Rubin
Secretary – Emily Fisher

Debra Hare-Bey
Darlene Samuels

Karen Zebulon

Our Staff

Acting Executive Director 

Howard Kolins

Communications & PR Manager

Shantal Marshall

Events Manager

Carolina Juarez

bottom of page